Neil Murray

Neil Murray

Neil Murray is one of Australia’s most respected and influential singer/songwriters.

Originally from Victoria’s western district, Neil Murray set course for the Northern Territory in the late 1970’s with guitar in hand. He emerged at Papunya in 1980 as a founding member of the pioneering Warumpi Band which over three albums and twenty years of performing thrust contemporary indigenous music into mainstream Australia.

Since 1989 he has released a remarkable string of solo albums. His song writing is diverse - from the rollicking Good Light in Broome, the prayerful Native Born, the roots groove of Long Grass Band and Eddie Mabo, the journeyman monologues of Lights of Hay and Where my people go, the contemplation of place in Burrumbeep Hill and Whispering Casuarina. Collectively, his work has done much to deepen Australia’s contemporary music heritage.

In 1995, Neil Murray was awarded the APRA song of the year for "My Island Home" originally written for the Warumpi Band and re-recorded by Christine Anu. My Island Home featured in the closing ceremony of the Sydney 2000 Olympics and the opening ceremony of the recent 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth games.

In recognition of his influence, Neil Murray was awarded the 2017 Port Fairy Folk Festival Artist of the Year.

Neil Murray’s songs have been recorded by Mary Black, Jimmy Little, Missy Higgins, Liz Stringer, Christine Anu, Peter Denahy, Carus Thompson, Adam Brand, Amy Saunders, Powderfinger, The Tiddas, Ursula Yovich, Peter Brandy, Emma Donovan and the Warumpi Band.